Mythology

Understanding mythology provides a foundation for classic literature in the years ahead.


Years 1-3

D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths ~5 pages per week for 36 weeks

D’Aulaire’s Book of Norse Myths ~4 pages per week for 36 weeks

The Heroes (Kingsley) – 15 chapters

Tanglewood Tales (Hawthorne) – 6 chapters

American Tall Tales (Stoutenberg) – 8 chapters


Years 4-6

Any of the above books, and:

The Age of Fable (Bulfinch) – 41 chapters (there are some old illustrated versions that are nice to have)

King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table (Green)

The Sampo (Baldwin)

The Story of Roland (Baldwin)

The Story of Siegfried (Baldwin) – 20 chapters; detailed Norse myths for fans of Thor and Loki

The Red Indian Fairy Book


Years 7+

The Age of Chivalry (Bulfinch)

Idylls of the King. Epic poem about King Arthur by Alfred, Lord Tennyson. BBC Radio has an abridged version available on Audible; it is a dramatic, easy listen. I created an abridged version of the poem to follow along with the BBC script. The sections included are: The Coming of Arthur, Lancelot and Elaine, The Last Tournament, Guinevere, and The Passing of Arthur.


Contemporary Mythology

Percy Jackson & The Olympians (Riordan) – Greek Mythology

Kane Chronicles (Riordan) – Egyptian Mythology

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s