Mythology

Include at least one book of Mythology each year.  Understanding myths provides a foundation for classic literature in the years ahead.


Years 1-3

D’Aulaire’s Book of Greek Myths ~5 pages per week for 36 weeks

D’Aulaire’s Book of Norse Myths ~4 pages per week for 36 weeks

The Heroes (Kingsley) – 15 chapters

Tanglewood Tales (Hawthorne) – 6 chapters

American Tall Tales (Stoutenberg) – 8 chapters


Year 4-6

Any of the above books, and:

The Age of Fable (Bulfinch) – 41 chapters

King Arthur and His Knights of the Round Table (Green)

The Sampo (Baldwin)

The Story of Roland (Baldwin)

The Story of Siegfried (Baldwin) – 20 chapters; detailed Norse myths for fans of Thor and Loki

The Red Indian Fairy Book


Contemporary Mythology

Percy Jackson & The Olympians (Riordan) – Greek Mythology

Kane Chronicles (Riordan) – Egyptian Mythology

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s